This is the "Home" page of the "Library Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Databases  

Find articles, e-Books, and other information alphabetically and by subject.
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.wilkescc.edu/databases Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases by Subject

 

Jump to . . .

A   B   C   E   F   G   H   J   L   M   N   O   P   R  S   T   U   V   W

A

  • ABC-CLIO e-Book Collection
    Over 200 nonfiction titles focusing on history and literature.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Magazines and journals on many subjects; includes peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
  • A.D.A.M. Interactive Anatomy
    A.D.A.M. Interactive Anatomy presents over 20,000 anatomical structures with point and click identification. It includes detailed, full-color illustrations of body parts, organs, structures and systems complete with pinned structures, clinical animations, and hi-res 3D structures with full rotation and exploded views.
  • African American Poetry
    Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.
  • ALLDATA Online (On campus only.)
    **Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox are strongly recommended.**
    A comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information.
  • American Poetry
    Find poems written from 1650-1920. Includes Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and Herman Melville.
  • American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
    Life histories of former slaves compiled from 4,000 interviews with former slaves.
  • Art & Architecture Complete
    Magazines, journals, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and more. Includes image collection of over 63,000 images.
  • Autorepair Reference Center
    Drawings, step-by-step photographs, wiring diagrams, technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the manufactures for thousands of vehicles.

B

  • Biography Reference Center
    More than 450,000 biographies, including actors, authors, explorers, historical figures, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, scientists and many others.
  • Business Source Complete
    Journals, peer-reviewed publications, magazines on a wide range of topics including: marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

C

  • CAMIO
    Photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture.
  • CINAHL with Full-Text
    Covers nursing, alternative medicine, radiology, speech pathology, physical therapy, and more. It offers articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
  • Company Profiles
    10,000 company profiles from Datamonitor, including U.S., European, and Asian companies.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Information on aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, and more.
  • CQ Global Researcher
    CQ Global Researcher provides students with definitive, in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. CQ Global Researcher offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues.
  • CQ Researcher
    Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
  • CQ Weekly
    News and analysis on how legislation is shaped. Coverage of bills, votes, amendments, committees, and more.

E

  • eBooks on EBSCOHost
    Nearly 25,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
  • English Poetry
    Find poems written from 600 to 1900 including Thomas Percy, Walter Scott, Robert Dodsley, Francis Turner Palgrave, and more.
  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source
    Covers topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business, including key periodicals, reference books, case studies, company profiles and 600+ videos with transcripts from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.
  • Environment Complete
    Journals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
  • ERIC
    Digests from education-related journals. Provides access to Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

F

G

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    30 Reference books and Encyclopedias in Religion, History, Philosophy, and more.
  • Global Issues in Context
    Subject areas include sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, and human rights.
  • Global Road Warrior
    This is a massive database of constantly updated proprietary editorial and graphics for 175 countries of the world. It provides deep content coverage in major topic areas of society and culture, travel, communications, business, trade, marketing, and security.
  • GreenFILE
    Scholarly and general interest titles, government documents, and reports related to the topic of ecology.

H

  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    Magazines, journals, and essays on medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, general health, adult health, pediatric health, senior health, women's health and sports medicine.
  • HeritageQuest
    Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
  • Hoover's Business Research Platform
    Business research platform allows you to search U.S. and international company listings by industry, size, & geography to create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, and raise funds.

J

  • JSTOR
    Journal coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics
  • Job & Career Accelerator
    Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings.

L

  • Lab Tests Online
    Understand lab tests that are part of routine care, as well as diagnosis and treatment. Search by test, condition, or recommended screenings.
  • Learning Express Library
    Practice tests and self-paced courses for students & adult learners. ASVAB, GED, GRE, SAT, resume and cover letter writing courses and more.
  • Legal Information Reference Center
    Contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
  • Literary Reference Center Plus
    Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.

M

  • Maps101  Icon
    Maps101.com is a web-based interactive database of teacher lesson plans, geography tools, online learning games, dynamic interactive map modules and over 4,000 viewable and printable history, thematic, reference, outline, current events and animated maps.
  • MasterFile Complete
    General magazines, journals, and newspapers covering many subjects. Includes peer-reviewed.
  • Military and Government Collection
    Current news on all branches of the military, includes a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications, and news weeklies.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center
    Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.
  • MyiLibrary eBooks
    Over 379 titles in History, the Social Sciences, Criminal Justice, and more.

N

  • Native Plants Journal (On campus only).
    Native Plants Journal is a forum for dispersing practical information about planting and growing North American (Canada, Mexico, and U.S.) native plants for conservation, restoration, reforestation, landscaping, highway corridors, and related uses.
  • Newspaper Source Plus
    Selected national and international newspapers such as the New York Times, Washington Post, News & Observer, Charlotte Observer, and more.
  • North American Women's Letters and Diaries
    North American Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, brings the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
  • NoveList
    Readers' advisory service searchable by author, title, series name, and plot. Includes author read-alikes and lists of award-winners.

O

  • One Click Audio Recorded Books
    Downloadable audio books on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Provides in-depth coverage of current social issues. Resources include journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, videos, and recommended websites.

P

  • Points of View
    Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

R

  • Regional Business News
    75 business journals, newspapers, and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

S

  • Science in Context
    Information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Merges reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • Science Reference Center
    Science encyclopedias, reference books, and magazines covering biology, chemistry, earth & space science, life science, physics, and more.
  • Simply Map
    Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
  • Small Engine Repair Center
    Detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines.
  • Stat!Ref Medical Textbooks
    Provides full text access to key medical references and textbooks.
  • Student Research Center
    Magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, images, and encyclopedias on health, science, literature, current events, history, and more.

T

  • TopicSearch
    Current events, controversial issues, and discussion topics including energy and environment, gay rights, global warming, gun control, immigration, and human rights.

U

  • US History in Context
    Access to full-text periodicals, references, primary sources, audio, video, and scholarly analysis related to American history.

V

  • Video Collection
    Online videos from PBS including Ken Burns, Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.
  • Vocations, Careers and Technical Education Collection
    Full-text access to periodicals related to vocational education. Subjects include automotive, criminal justice, culinary, horticulture, human services, and industrial technology.

W

  • Wall Street Journal
    Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).
  • World History in Context
    Access to full-text periodicals, references, primary sources, audio, video, and scholarly analysis related to American history.
 

Login Problems?

Need a password to access library databases off campus? 
Email wccparduelibrary@gmail.com for assistance.

 

Need Help?

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Pardue Library Wilkes Community College
(336) 838-6114
www.facebook.com/PardueLibrary

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip